Irwin 2020: Collective Solitude

Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery
Wed Jun 3 6pm everyday Ages: 18+

About Irwin 2020: Collective Solitude

Irwin 2020: Collective Solitude
Virtual Exhibition June 3-30, 2020

Opening Celebration: June 3, 6-7pm

The Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery is excited to introduce IRWIN 2020: Collective Solitude, the 34th annual Irwin Scholarship Award exhibition, which showcases the work of a select group of UC Santa Cruz’s most promising young artists: Aaron Martinez, Anastasia Oleson, Angel Gonzales, Chloe Murr, Dominic Ramirez, Edgar Cruz, Emma McWaid, Jocelyn Lee, Joshua Zupan, Morgan Tomfohr, Natalie Del Castillo, Rodrigo Ramos, and Veriche Blackwell.

Collective Solitude features 13 artists whose works speak to this extraordinary period in history characterized by tremendous isolation and yet also incredible communal action. Their art addresses the many effects that distance has on individual, group, community, and worldwide levels. With confidence that such great constraints generate new and creative ideas, Collective Solitude aims to explore our present, estranged world where everyone is experiencing some form of loss and separation while working diligently and finding unique means to come together and support one another.

Free Event

Explore Nearby